The life and death of Jahseh Onfroy

The Manifesto of XXXTENTACION

Joseph Mayuyo
7 min readAug 3, 2022
Photo by Mike Von on Unsplash

I was not a fan of the late XXXTENTACION when he was alive. I was aware of his presence in the music industry. I thought he was just like all the mumble rappers during the rise of that sub-genre of rap music. I did not pay any attention to him just as much as I dismissed the music of Lil Pump, Tekashi69, and Lil Xan, to name a few. I only began studying X after watching his documentary.

Surprisingly, I came across his story a few weeks ago. I was downstairs looking for something inspiring to watch. I got tired of watching Forensic Files. I snuck into my sister’s Hulu account. Maybe I will find something here that is not on YouTube or Netflix. I made my subaccount and immediately suggested watching a documentary called “Look At Me: XXXTENTACION.” It is exclusive to Hulu, though many clips in the documentary float around the internet today.

We will not go over any basic facts because this is not that kind of article. I’m reading conspiracy theories about X’s death; it saddens me that we human beings lack death etiquette. It only makes sense.

After all, most of us do not understand life. I hope to make this brief analysis of Jahseh’s life accurate as I assume the responsibility and sensitivity surrounding this topic because of his fanbase. X’s story is nearly…

--

--

Joseph Mayuyo

I write about being a functional addict in dysfunctional relationships. Living in a world that wasn’t created for us to thrive, I write to keep us alive. #Hope